Sydney Women’s Jazz Collective


The Sydney Women’s Jazz Collective is a 10-piece powerhouse, created especially for the festival. These talented members represent some of Australia’s up and coming jazz stars. Making its debut appearance, the Sydney Women’s Jazz Collective is led by trumpeter Ellen Kirkwood and bassist Hannah James. Featuring a six-piece horn section and four-piece rhythm section, the band includes several past winners of the prestigious Jann Rutherford Memorial Award for young women in jazz, performing with the acclaimed Sydney saxophonist Sandy Evans. The Jazz Collective will present premiere performances of eight specially commissioned works by Andrea Keller (Vic) and local composing talents Jenna Cave, Glenn Doig and Ellen Kirkwood. Joining the band in a very special international collaboration are Canadian/US jazz stars Ingrid and Christine Jensen.

This project, including commissioned works has been assisted by The Australia Council for the Arts, the Federal Government’s Arts Funding and Advisory body.

Ellen Kirkwood (trumpet) Hannah James  (double bass) Sandy Evans (saxophones) Melissa Mony (saxophones) Anna Leckie (baritone saxophone) Louise Horwood (trumpet) Alex Silver (trombone) Sorcha Albuquerque (guitar) Emma Stephenson (piano) Ali Foster( drums)

Special guests: Ingrid Jensen (trumpet) Christine Jensen (alto saxophone)


Friday 4 November 8:30pm @ Foundry 616 Led by Ellen Kirkwood 


Monday 7 November 8:30pm @ Foundry 616 Led by Hannah James


4 and 7/11: with special guests Ingrid and Christine Jensen